How syncing to GitHub works in Conveyor
If you have GitHub sync enabled for a project in Conveyor, then each person in your workspace that uses the Conveyor desktop client will have a deployment key added to the repository to GitHub.
What gets synced?
- Each task that you create in Conveyor will have its own branch synced to GitHub
- Every commit made to tasks in Conveyor will be synced to GitHub
- Every commit made to those branches in GitHub is synced back to Conveyor
- And the master branch will be kept in sync when tasks are finished in Conveyor or when pull requests are merged in GitHub
Q: When I create a new task in Conveyor, will a branch be created in GitHub?
Q: When I create a new branch in GitHub, will a task be created in Conveyor?
Q: Are GitHub Issues or Pull Requests visible in Conveyor?
Q: When I finish a task in Conveyor, the changes are merged to master in GitHub. But why does the branch not reflect that is has been merged?
A: When you finish a task, Conveyor takes all the commits in that task and squashes them down into a single commit. This squash merge is cool because it allows us to support one-click task Rollbacks. But unfortunately, the branch in GitHub does not appear to be merged (In the future we might delete the branch in GitHub once it is finished in Conveyor to keep things tidy. But we haven’t done that yet).
Q: If I remove a person from my workspace, will that person’s Deployment Key be removed from GitHub automatically?